Greenville Country Club announces 2018 board of governors


The Greenville Country Club recently named Matthew Smith, director at Elliott Davis LLC, its club president. The 2018 board of governors were also elected at the annual meeting. Club officers serve under the president for a one-year term, while new at-large members of the board serve a three-year term.

Prior to becoming president, Smith served as the club’s vice president and treasurer. He provides operations and financial management to various clients as part of the consulting and advisory at Elliott Davis. Smith earned a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting at Wake Forest University, and he is a licensed CPA in South Carolina.

“I am honored to be trusted with this responsibility as Greenville Country Club’s new president,” Smith says. “I look forward to serving the GCC community and continuing the club’s expansion and progression unrivaled by any other club in South Carolina.”

Supported by the four officers listed below, Smith will be responsible for leading GCC’s board of governors.


Vice President: Hamilton E. “Bo” Russell III, partner with Nelson, Mullins, Riley & Scarborough LLP
Secretary: Dr. W. Keith Walker, Piedmont Oral Surgery P.A.
Treasurer: Frank R. Wrenn III, president, Crescent Capital Partners
Past President: John R. Reynolds, vice president and managing general counsel, Fluor Corporation


The following nine governors were named as the rest of the GCC board of governors: George A. Campbell Jr., Marion R. Crawford, Howard L. Einstein, Michael D. Fletcher, Dr. J. Wesley Harden, Brian L. Hungerford, Jonathan E. Miller, Kelly L. Odom, and Jeff S. Powell.


Established in 1905, GCC is one of the South’s most historic and prestigious country clubs. GCC features two 18-hole golf courses, 17 lighted tennis courts, a three-pool aquatic center, and a 45,000-square-foot clubhouse with a fitness and wellness center.



Related Articles