On the Move: April 13, 2018


Chris Moore

Has been promoted to vice president and general manager of CarolinaPower. Moore has been with CarolinaPower since it was established in 1999. He previously served as operations manager. Moore is a graduate of the Georgia Institute of Technology with a bachelor’s in electrical engineering.

Sara Shumpert

Has partnered with packagingschool.com. Shumpert was part of the founding team in 2015 and has worked to create the premier resource for online education for the packaging industry. Shumpert graduated from the Clemson University College of Business and is president of the local LeadHER organization.

Steven Farrar

Has been selected to the National Foundation for Judicial Excellence Board. Farrar currently works for Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP in Greenville and previously worked as a certified public accountant. He serves as the firm’s assistant general counsel and risk manager.

Annemarie Murphy

Has been promoted to president of United Community Bank SBA Division. Murphy has more than 22 years of experience in SBA lending and has been a leader in the bank’s SBA team since it launched in 2014. Murphy holds a bachelor’s degree from Alleghency College and a master’s degree from the University of Alabama.

Britany Ochalek

Has joined Engenius as a content strategist. Ochalek brings over five years of marketing and writing experience to the team. She earned her bachelor’s degree in English from the University of North Carolina Charlotte.


Chris G. Neely 

The Office of the White House Press Secretary has released an announcement of President Donald Trump’s intent to appoint Chris G. Neely, executive director of the Meyer Center, as chair of his Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities. He will serve the remainder of a two-year term, ending in May 2018, and an additional two-year term. Neely joined the Meyer Center in 2016 and previously served as director of development for the University of South Carolina’s Arnold School of Public Health. He has worked as director of government relations and public affairs for both Reynolds American and Walmart Stores. Neely is a major in the Army National Guard and has served in both the Army and Navy.

Neely said, “I am deeply honored that President Trump has selected me to lead the efforts of this very important committee. I look forward to continuing my role at the Meyer Center while working with our administration to help improve the quality of life experienced by people with intellectual disabilities like my son, Marsh.”


Julie Capaldi, President of United Way of Pickens County, has been recognized by local business leaders for her impact on local students. Capaldi received the 2017 Distinguished Service Award from Manufacturers Caring for Pickens County for her work with Camp iRock, a summer reading camp for students struggling with reading in Pickens County.


Interim HealthCare of the Upstate has been given a 5-star rating on Medicare.gov for the 10th consecutive quarter, out of the 11 quarters the ranking system has been in place. Interim HealthCare of the Upstate is a locally owned hospice and home health care agency. Medicare.gov awards the rankings based on patient surveys.


The U.S. Department of Commerce has announced the Department’s Economic Development Administration (EDA) awarded a $1.5 million grant to Piedmont Technical College Inc. of Greenwood to construct a new building to house the Upstate Center for Manufacturing Excellence on the college’s Greenwood campus. The project is expected to create 86 jobs and spur more than $16 million in private investment.


This year’s CoStar Power Broker Awards have been awarded to professionals who closed the highest transaction volume in commercial property sales. Forty brokers from the Greenville Spartanburg area have been recognized, and the top 10 brokers based on sales were the following: Bern DuPree (NAI Earle Furman LLC), Brian J. Young (Cushman & Wakefield | Thalhimer), Elliott Fayssoux (Cushman & Wakefield | Thalhimer), Joey Weinel (SVN Blackstream LLC), John Parker (BroadStreet Partners), Kay Hill (NAI Earle Furman LLC), Peter Couchell (NAI Earle Furman LLC), Tony Bonitati (NAI Earle Furman LLC), Tripp Sellers (CBRE), and Tyson Glasser (RealtyLink).


Related Articles