Spartanburg Chamber recognizes businesses, individuals at annual celebration

Will Crooks/Upstate Business Journal

The Spartanburg Area Chamber of Commerce, presented by Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System, held its 2018 Annual Celebration on May 22. Businesses and individuals who have significantly contributed to the successes of Spartanburg were honored at the event.

“Spartanburg in 2018 is much different than it was five years ago, but the roots of today’s successes were planted years ago,” said Allen Smith, president and CEO of the Spartanburg Chamber. “Spartanburg County is now home to more business and community growth than ever before, and record numbers of visitors come into the county for a host of reasons.”

The 2018 award winners are as follows:

Ambassador of the Year was awarded to Maddi Currier, development associate at the Hope Center for Children, for her engagement of local businesses.

Landon Cohen, president of Light Transportation Company, was named Young Professional of the Year, for his entrepreneurial successes and job creation.

-The 2017 Teachers of the Year are as follows:

District 1: Joshua Fowler; District 2: Keri Belue; District 3: Kimberly Goode; District 4: Emily Montjoy; District 5: Laura Brockman; District 6: Janelle Courtney Dial; District 7: Dr. Vern Weygandt; Spartanburg Day School: Kim Ballenger; SC School for Deaf and Blind: John Preston Lewis

-The Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award posthumously recognized Newt Hardie, founder of The Trees Coalition, for his work to fight kudzu across Spartanburg County. Hardie, 83, died on May 5.

Auriga Polymers Inc. received the Economic Futures Award for its 50 years of innovation in Spartanburg.

Patti Wetherford, manager for Pinnacle Hospitality, was posthumously named the Elaine Harris Tourism Person of the Year for her contributions to the tourism industry. Wetherford died in 2017.

The James B. Thompson Small Business of the Year Award was given to Atlas Organics for its growth and innovation in recycling and composting.

Natasha Pitts, minority business development coordinator with the City of Spartanburg, received the Inclusion Advocate of the Year award for her work advocating for minority-and women-owned businesses.

Minority Business Person of the Year was awarded to Charles Atchison, owner and founder of Atchison Transportation, for his work in building the state’s largest full-service ground transportation company.

-Spartanburg Mayor Junie White and Spartanburg County Council Chairman Jeff Horton received The Chairman’s Award for their collaborative leadership in support of the Penny Referendum.

Neville Holcombe Distinguished Citizenship Award honored U.S. Rep. Trey Gowdy, representing the state’s 4th Congressional District, for his commitment to Spartanburg during his time of public service.


Related Articles